DAY 1

(Think i'm gonna write in english til' I figure out this desktop)

East London looks like any other place where you would normally go on vacation. It doesn't really feel like "Africa".. until suddenly, after driving past all the mansions, we are driving side to side with a township. Not a real township though, here they call it an informal settlement. And just like that, the feeling that you knew you were going to feel but you didn't know what it felt like, rushes through your body.

I look at my mother and say "I wish I was black right now.."
"Me to" She says.

We arrive at Sugar Shack which is located right by the ocean. It's increadibly windy and the waves are huuuuuge. It's a surfers paradise, that's for sure! It's around 23+ degrees outside.

We open a big, green gate that leads us into a saggy little tree-house paradise. A dream for any backpacker, but a little to creepy for me. I try to tell myself that I am cool enough to live here.

Down the stairs walks a young girl who helps us check in and then shows us around.
"These are the loos'' She says and points towards to, remarkably clean, outdoor-toilets. "And there are the showers. The bathrooms and showers are co-ed, just so you know".

She shows us to the kitchen upstairs. Mum and I get a little bit grosed out from all the dirty dishes. But I think i'm more of a woos than mum in that case.

Then she shows us to our "hut". We have to jump on a few logs and step on some stones to get there, and it really looks like a treehouse! I would say it is approx. 6 squaremeters.

There are two beds in each end and in between there is a table-thingy with two lamps on top of it. There is no colour on the walls that are made of some sort of plywood or something similar. It is quite cosy actually.

Mum makes a phonecall to Bahnu and asks her if we can visit Masimanyane tomorrow, and of course we can. Then she speaks to Gaye who is going to take us to Daily Bread, a childrens home and school, in the morning.

My sister and brother in-law sent some clothes for us to bring to the children. There are about 78 children between the ages of four and eightteen staying at Daily Bread (!!)

Later we walk to the store and by some eggs and butter etc. We managed to make an omelette in the greasy kitchen. But I have decided that we need to buy our own towel, sponge and forks.

When we are eating a guy named Richard comes up to us. He is the drummer that is going to build a djembe with me! He showed me a lot of pictures and stuff. I'm so excited!! We are going to film the whole thing from scratch.

After talking to Richard and the others we started to feel a lot more comfortable at Sugar Shack. Everyone is so nice.

But, we HAVE TO get a flashlight. A minute ago we ran into a snake on our way to the bathroom.
Haha!

Night!
/Amanda.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Korvis

Det är sjukt spännande att läsa! Försöker med engelskan här hahah det låter i alla fall helt underbart : ) <3

2010-05-12 @ 23:46:50
Postat av: Korvis

Det är helt sjukt spännande att läsa! Försöker med engelskan här! Hahah låter helt underbart i alla fall : ) <3

2010-05-12 @ 23:47:59
Postat av: Lennart G

I think you´re good at english. (Much better than me!)

2010-05-14 @ 19:29:10

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0