DAY 2

We survived our first night without having to encounter too many bugs. Anyhow we both woke up a couple of times wondering "What is that noise?". Everytime we realized that it was the waves.

In the morning the cold wakes us up. It is wintertime here now (like summer in Sweden, haha) and the nights are extremely cold. Especially when you have neither isolation nor a heater.

On our "porch" it is a lot warmer than inside. Joy rises when you get to watch the sunrise behind the mountain, while the waves bring with them the tide.

Gaye was supposed to pick us up at 8:30, but in South Africa people live according to "African time" (which kind of means that nothing happens when it is supposed to happen.)

We were picked up at 9:45 and drove to Daily Bread along with Gaye and an american woman named Debz. Both of them are super religious (...) but so kind and loving. Bedz asks us if it is ok that she reads a few scriptures while we are in the car. I notice that God, Jesus, faith and reward are words that continue to appear in their conversations. "Pray for their souls.."

We arrive at the childrens home and meet reverent Vuyani who shows us around. The kids are at school and get a break right before we leave. It is hard having to stand there while the reverent calls the children to come say helloto us. It makes me feel like a spectator at a zoo.. I want them to say hello to me because they want to, not because they have to. I should be the one to approach them.

Anyways we decided that we are going back on monday when they are having their Open Day. Then the children are going to dance, sing and act and show us all of their projects. I'm longing!

After DB we went to Wimpy to grab a coffee. Gaye and Debz were quite shocked when I asked if the new what South Africa's take on homosexuality is. Gaye answers that it is legal to get married, and then they both start talking about their own and "God's opinion". I don't feel like writing about that right now. Haha, maybe another day. I think you can imagine though.

Later they dropped us off at Masimanyane where mum introduced me to all of her friends. They were all very welcoming. I love Sindiswa, the woman who makes their tea! She was smiling the whole time we were there. I got to meet Bahnu, Cathy, Lesley-Ann and Micki. And then of course Louise who is an intern from Sweden, just as my mother was.

Mum and I walked up to Vincents (sort of a mall). We bought two blankets and some other neccesarities. Then we walked back to Masi to meet up with Louise. We hopped on a "townie" and went to Guido's to eat. A townie is a minivan that drives around and picks people up at random places. The honk and shout "townie" out the window. Haha. It cost us 10R (about 12SEK) to go downtown. Almost only the poor go with the townies, I think the other rich people are too scared. Haha!

When we were walking back to out hostel mum tripped on the sidewalk and fell hard. She hurt her chin and and her knee and can hardly walk now.  Her knee is twice the size of the other! She is going to the doctor tomorrow, hopefully we can stay at the shack anyway. Maybe I can ask Gaye & Debz to pray for us?

Mum got some ice for her swollen knee and I got to smell wood. Haha! Richard had been to King Williams Town to buy a stubbe (wtf is it called in english?) which the djembe is going to be made out of. 

We are gonna start building it on thursday because tomorrow I am going with Louise and Bertha to Haven. A hospice for people with aids, and also a daycare. I look forward to it, but at the same time it is probably going to be rough. 

Ah..
I have to sleep now!!
Be safe,
/Amanda
 


Kommentarer
Postat av: Korvis

Oj, hur mår mamma?

2010-05-12 @ 23:54:15
Postat av: Lennart G

Stackars Ingrid, vilken otur! Hoppas hon är bättre nu.

2010-05-14 @ 19:34:31

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0