DAY 4

(Still writing in English, hate this desktop..)


Molweni!


Today we started with the building of the drum, worked from 9 to 4. We have shaped, carved, grinded and hollowed it. It is hard work! My fingers hurt like hell. But it’s a lot of fun. Think we are going to finish the first part of the drum tomorrow, and then on Tuesday we are getting up real early to tighten the skin. Apparently we have to work with the sun.. bleeeh. The drum will be completely finished on Thursday.


Around six me & mum went with Richard to Talamanca music lounge. Louise and her boyfriend joined us as well. It was some kind of “open stage” thing, don’t remember what it was called. Anyways there were people reading poetry and a few bands and some singers. It was real nice, filmed the whole event. Richard dragged me up on stage to introduce me and talk about the drum that we are working on. Fun for a girl with stage fright huh?


I have already gotten to film soooooo much music, it’s unbelievable. There is music everywhere! I really love this place, but I don’t know why. Maybe it is because of the people. Everyone is so open and welcoming.


Something I have noticed is that the people in SA are not afraid to say that they are good at something. In Sweden you are considered boastful if you e.g. tell someone “I am really good at drawing!”


Ah, I hate sitting by this slow computer, I’ll write some more later.


Tomorrow I am going out with Lesley-Ann’s daughter and her friends. A little scared to be honest, but I guess it will be fine.


I have learned to say a few things in Xhosa, but it is incredibly hard because of all the clicks. You see, they have clicks instead of x, q and c.


But still..


IMonti = East London

I Gobo = My drum

Nkosi Kakuhlu = Thank you very much

Molo/Molweni = Hello


Can’t think of anything else right now. But I can say this much, Afrikaans is so much easier to understand in comparison to Xhosa. Since my dad is Dutch and Afrikaans is sort of and old version of dutch.


Okay, now I’m just babbling.


Bye!
/Amanda 

Ps. I'm going to try and upload some pictures tomorrow night!


Kommentarer
Postat av: Anneli och Jonny

Hej tjejer i SA! Vilket äventyr ni är ute på. Var rädda om er och ha så kul! Kram från oss =)

2010-05-14 @ 12:17:16
Postat av: Korvis

Titta vad du får lära dig om trumman hahah du kanske blir lika dum som jag när du kommer hem? :p

helt sjukt vad du får erfara mycket häftiga saker! Jag är lite avundsjuk.. även fast jag har ca 35 låtar att spela här hemma :p oväntat va?



Jag kan uppdatera dig om att vi ska spela förband till Lillasyster!!! :D:D:D



SAKNAR DIG <3

2010-05-15 @ 09:54:55

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0